## Council 16 May 2002 Agenda Item 9 – Annex to List 4

## 3 Independent Members on the Standards Committee for the Municipal year 2002/2003

- 1. As well as 7 Members of the Council and the appointee of Leigh-on-Sea Town Council (Councillor David Johnson), the Council's Constitution also requires the appointment of 3 "Independent Members" to the Standards Committee.
- 2. Following public advertisement and a press release I received 4 applications for the 3 posts of Independent Member. One of the applicants has now withdrawn and brief details of the remaining 3 are set out in paragraph 5 below.
- 3. I have carefully considered the 3 applications and also spoken to each of the applicants.
- 4. In my view they are all qualified for appointment and possess the necessary skills and abilities. I am therefore pleased to be able to recommend to Council that each one be appointed to the Standards Committee.

The Relevant Authorities (Standards Committee) Regulations 2001 provide that these appointments must be approved by a majority of the Members of the Council, i.e. at least 26 Members.

- 5. <u>Details of Applicants</u>
  - (a) Stephen Burdett of 144 Alexandra Road, Southend-on-Sea
    - Church of England Parish Priest and Team Rector of Parish of Southend since August 1999.
    - Honorary Chaplain, Southend RNLI
  - (b) James Perry of 101 Thorpe Bay Gardens, Thorpe Bay
    - Retired from his own Jewellery business.
    - Former Councillor, Magistrate (although still on the supplementary list), General Commissioner of Income Tax and member of the Eastern Rent Assessment Panel.
    - Member/past member of various local Clubs and Societies.
  - (c) John Sheldrake of 58 Shaftsbury Avenue, Southend-on-Sea
    - Lecturer at the Management School, Imperial College London.
    - Written and taught courses on local government, business ethics for MBA course and undertaken work for the Local Government Management Board.
    - School Governor, member of Church PCC and a member of the Industrial Tribunals.

John Williams Deputy Town Clerk and Monitoring Officer